Deutsch | English

K+S Transport GmbH

Deutsch

History

A traditional storage and transloading business

In 1927 K+S Transport GmbH was established on the island of Wilhelmsburg on the river Elbe in Hamburg to create a modern storage and transloading facility that would meet the increasing transport demands of the time. Docks were rapidly built on behalf of the Prussian authorities and made available to the Potash Syndicate of Germany for 450,000 Reichsmarks a year. In 1928 a similar facility was added at Bremen, bringing a combined storage capacity of 190,000 metric tonnes of potash salt.

Up to the second world war 950,000 tonnes a year were transported. In 1947, after rapid rebuilding work to repair war-time damage, fertilizer export restarted and after just a few years reached pre-war quantities. In 1955 K+S Transport GmbH bought the Hamburg docks from the city authorities and in 1967 bought the Bremen site from the Potash Syndicate. At the beginning of the 1970s, the company separated itself from the Bremen site on strategic grounds.

Modern port and transport logistics

Over the years we have invested many millions of euros in the modernization of the docks, warehouses, conveyor machinery and transloading technology, to increase capacity and bring down operational costs.

In 1990, German Bulk Chartering GmbH was founded in Hamburg as a collaboration between Kali und Salz AG (as K+S was then known) and Berlin-based Kali-Bergbau Handelsgesellschaft mbH, for loading ships with cargo from the two companies. As part of Germany’s reunification process, Kali-Bergbau Handelsgesellschaft mbH was liquidized and its share in GBC was taken over by K+S Transport GmbH.

In 2000 UBT See- und Hafen-Spedition GmbH in Rostock was acquired. UBT provided customs clearance and port freight services in the ports of Wismar and Rostock. Clearance services provided by K+S Transport in Hamburg and Lübeck were then combined into UBT. In 2013 UBT was absorbed into K+S Transport.

Freight activities in in Hamburg und Bremen were sold off in 1992. In 2001, as a result of increasing containerization of sea transportation, primarily in south-east Asia, a container freight service was recreated. This development was followed by an increase in the use of intermodal container transport from inland areas to the ports of Hamburg and Bremerhaven. This was partly due to the development of the Baltic Train 8railway transports) in 2002, and investment in Börde Container Feeder GmbH (based in Haldensleben), in 2004, thereby involved in inland waterway transportation.

In 2010 the Werra Kombi Terminal in Philippsthal was completed, providing container transloading to and from rail for K+S products along with those of external clients. The terminal is operated via our 50%-share in Werra Kombi Terminal Betriebsgesellschaft mbH.

.

Deutsch | English

K+S Transport GmbH

English

Historie

Traditioneller Lager- und Umschlagsbetrieb

1927 siedelte sich die K+S Transport GmbH auf der Insel Wilhelmsburg in der Elbe vor Hamburg an, um durch eine moderne Lager- und Umschlaganlage den steigenden Transportanforderungen Rechnung zu tragen. Im Auftrag des Preußischen Staates wurde  hier innerhalb kürzester Zeit eine Hafenanlage errichtet, die dem Kalisyndikat für 450.000 Reichsmark pro Jahr zu Verfügung stand. 1928 kam eine vergleichbare Anlage in Bremen hinzu. In beiden Häfen war nun Lagerraum für 190.000 Tonnen Kalisalze geschaffen.

Bis zum Zweiten Weltkrieg wurden pro Jahr 950.000 Tonnen verschifft. Nach zügigem Wiederaufbau begann 1947 erneut der Export von Düngemitteln und erreichte bereits nach wenigen Jahren das Volumen der Vorkriegszeit. 1955 kaufte die K+S Transport GmbH die Hamburger Hafenanlage von der Hansestadt und 1967 die Bremer Anlage vom Kalisyndikat. Anfang der siebziger Jahre trennte man sich aus strategischen Gründen von der Bremer Anlage.

Moderne Hafen- und Transportlogistik

Bis heute haben wir in Hamburg viele Millionen Euro in die Modernisierung des Kais, der Lagerhallen und der Förder- und Umschlagtechnik investiert, um unsere Leistungsfähigkeit zu erhöhen und die Umschlagkosten zu optimieren.

Im Jahre 1990 wurde zusammen mit der Kali-Bergbau Handelsgesellschaft mbH, Berlin, die German Bulk Chartering GmbH, Hamburg, gegründet zur Befrachtung von Seeschiffen mit der Ladung von der damaligen Kali und Salz AG und der Kali-Bergbau Handelsgesellschaft. Im Rahmen der Liquidierung der Kali-Bergbau Handelsgesellschaft mbH durch die Treuhandanstalt wurden deren Anteile im Jahre 1993 von der K+S Transport GmbH übernommen.

Die UBT See- und Hafen-Spedition GmbH Rostock wurde im Jahre 2000 erworben. Die UBT erbrachte Klarierungstätigkeiten sowie Seehafenspeditionsdienstleistungen in den Häfen Wismar und Rostock. Die Klarierungen der K+S Transport in Hamburg und Lübeck wurden in der UBT dann gebündelt. 2013 wurden die UBT auf die K+S Transport verschmolzen.

Nachdem 1992 die Speditionsaktivitäten in Hamburg und Bremen veräußert wurden, erfolgte ab 2001 im Zuge der Containerisierung der Seetransporte im Wesentlichen in den Südostasiatischen Raum ein Wiederaufbau einer Containerspedition. Damit einher ging dann in den folgenden Jahren der Aufbau von Containertransporten im kombinierten Verkehr aus dem Seehafenhinterland in die Seehäfen Hamburg und Bremerhaven mit der Entwicklung des Baltic Train ab 2002 (Bahntransporte) sowie der Beteiligung an der Börde Container Feeder GmbH, Haldensleben, in 2004, mit Binnenschiffstransporten.

Im Jahre 2010 wurde das Werra Kombi Terminal in Philippsthal fertiggestellt, auf dem der Umschlag von Containern von und auf die Schiene mit Waren der K+S sowie Dritten erfolgt. Das Terminal wird durch unsere 50%-Beteiligung Werra Kombi Terminal Betriebsgesellschaft mbH, Philippsthal, betrieben.